Quick Info Guide to Crystals and the Chakras

Quick Info Guide to Crystals and the Chakras

Quick Guide to Crystals and the Chakras

Whilst it’s not essential to understand chakras to use crystal healing effectively combining crystals with chakra work can increase the  power and focus of the healing therapy. So, what are chakras? Chakras are the energy centres that exist in the human body and enable the flow of Qi energy throughout the human body. 

There are seven major ones each responding roughly to positions on the body, each one associated with a particular colour, qualities, and abilities.

  • The root or base chakra sits at the base of the tailbone  Candles and crystals depicting Chakras
  • The sacral chakra sits near the belly button
  • The solar plexus chakra sits at the base of the sternum
  • The heart chakra sits in the centre of the chest
  • The throat chakra sits above the adams apple
  • The third eye chakra sits in the centre of the forehead
  • And lastly the crown chakra sits at the top of the head.

There is an energy which flows constantly through these points within the body and sometimes one or more of them can become blocked or unbalanced, impeding the energy flow. Blockages can occur for many reasons but could include trauma, illness, emotional upset, substance abuse and more. It is said that imbalances in the chakras might correspond to different emotional and physical problems. 

For example, the heart chakra which serves as the centre for love for yourself and others may be unbalanced if you find it difficult to connect to people, feel lonely, isolated and or have difficulty experiencing life. Psychically some suggest that blood pressure issues, heart or lung problems and or sadness may also be a result of a blocked heart chakra (Always seek a professional medical opinion).

How to use crystals for chakra healing balancing?

First, select a crystal that vibrates with the appropriate frequency to help clear the blockage you have identified to restore normal energy flow. Lie on your back with your eyes closed and the crystal placed on the corresponding chakra. Visualize the colour of the chakra with energy flowing through.

ROOT or Mulladhara – Red

Grounding, emotional connections, security, finding your place in community.

Crystal options – Hematite, Red Jasper, Obsidian, Bloodstone, Garnet, Tigers Eye

SACRAL or Swadhisthana – Orange

Personal power, creativity, sexuality.

Crystal options – Amber, Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Citrine

SOLAR PLEXUS or Manipura – Yellow

Self-esteem, prosperity.

Crystal options – Citrine, Tigers Eye, Yellow Jasper, Sunstone, Yellow Aventurine

HEART or Anahata – Green

Love, balance, compassion, forgiveness.

Crystal options – Rose Quartz, Peridot, Green Calcite, Unakite, Malachite

THROAT or Vishuddha – Blue

Inner truth, communication, honesty

Crystal options – Iolite, Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Kyanite

THIRD EYE or Ajna – Violet

Intuition, mental clarity, insight

Crystal options – Amethyst, Fluorite, Lepidolite, Black Tourmaline, Turquoise

CROWN or Sahasrara – White/pink

Connection to spirit/divine, oneness

Crystal options – Clear quartz, labradorite, moonstone, selenite

Find all our chakra gifts click here:

Share this article with a friend